Sweet 16 – Part 1

I can’t believe this day/week is here.  Party tomorrow and birthday Wednesday.  I really can’t believe it has been 16 years.  That seems like a long time.  But it hasn’t been.  Yesterday we were starting high school, the day before middle, and just a couple days before that kindergarten.  Where did all of that time go??

It went one day at time.  Some of the times it was with laughter and hanging out, and some of the time it was very trying and wondering if we were really going to be able to make it.  Some of the time was with the correct priorities and enjoying every second I could with her, and some of the time it was too focused on work, on other relationships, on other just stuff that really should not have mattered so much.  Some of it was pushing her to do better, be better, work harder and some of it was sitting back and just waiting to see how she was going to handle things.  Some of the time was being a caravan for cheerleading, friends, or other events and some of it was letting her just go with friends.

I hope I have learned from the first 16, I know that the next 16 aren’t going to be the same challenges.  Instead of being concerned about making sure she can tie her own shoes or buckle her belt, it is going to be about being a safe driver, who is she dating now, what college is she going to go to, and more than likely planning a wedding and maybe even welcoming her own child into the world.  I hope I have learned something from the last 16, I’m sure that next 16 aren’t going to be any easier in fact I imagine the difficulties be much greater.

Somewhere during these next 16, I have to learn to let go.  I’m not really sure how well the first 16 have prepared me for that.  Sometime in these next 16, I won’t be able to push any longer – the choices will be completely hers to make.   Somehow in the next 16, I will have to learn to adjust to not seeing her everyday.

For now, I am going to really enjoy this time with her and celebrate this great milestone.

One thought on “Sweet 16 – Part 1

  1. Nicole says:

    I can’t believe she’s already 16! YIKES! Chris and I were just saying yesterday how it seem like it was just a few days ago that we brought Reagan home from the hospital and in a couple of weeks she’s going to be 1! (I sent an invitation to you – hope it was the right address!). I can’t believe how fast they grow up. You have a beautiful daughter you can be proud of 🙂 ❤ ya!

Leave a Reply

